According to California Penal Code 594, it is illegal to deface, damage or destroy someone else’s property.
This is a serious act in California and can bring consequences including, but not limited to fines, restitution, jail time, and in some situations, the loss of driving rights.
MISDEMEANOR VANDALISM CHARGES
- Damages that are under $400
- May include fines up to $1000 and/or incarceration up to 12 months
FELONY VANDALISM CHARGES
- Damages that cause over $400 in reparations
- May include fines up to $50,000 and/or incarceration up to 12 months
- If prior convictions are taken into consideration, the District Attorney may raise a misdemeanor vandalism charge to a felony vandalism charge.
LOSS OF DRIVING RIGHTS
According to the Vehicle Code Section 13202.6, a conviction of vandalism may also result in the loss of driving privileges. What is the defendant does not have a driver’s license? The Court has the power to delay the assigning of the license for up to three years. (Participation in community service may help reduce the amount of the suspension).
If you or a loved one is facing these charges, it is critical to get a criminal defense attorney to protect their constitutional rights and give them a chance to succeed. We offer free consultations and are available 24/7. Call us at (877) 705-3425.
CALIFORNIA COURTS WE SERVE
Alhambra, Banning, Bellflower, Burbank, Compton, Downey, East Los Angeles, El Monte, Fullerton, Glendale, Indio, Inglewood, Lancaster, Long Beach, Los Angeles, Murrieta, Newport Beach, Norwalk, Orange, Pasadena, Pomona, Rancho Cucamonga, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Fernando, Santa Ana, Santa Clarita, Torrance, Van Nuys, Victorville, West Covina, Westminster